DEV - Optimizing ways and means of Import/Export

As an admin/developer of Innovator I want to pretend I'm working in a repo where I can identify and track changes, or at the very least see all my changes so I can not miss a thing on Export.

I'm still a noob. I'm not unfamiliar with Dbs of various flavors, and while I've a love of JS, I'm well versed in PHP and have used some other programming languages. I'm especially a fan of recognizing needs and making work easier and more streamlined. For me, making life easier might come in the form of a bash one-liner, or a NodeJS server/app, or PostMan collection.

I think Import/Export is lacking and there should be one tool in the end, and that tool should be built-in, not dissimilar to Nash Utility, but a whole lot prettier!

Here's a summary of why I believe things should change.

IMPORT

In my experience there's a mess when working with other developers in that sometimes a packages infers it should be imported using Nash Utility, or sometimes I'm to use the package tools Import tool.

In my most recent battle I was given a package and the developer specified I had to use v12SP6 import tool. I just grabbed the latest, which I think was that associated with the SP9 package. It didn't work, so I methodically tracked every step and took screenshots and all. Well, it ended up that when I got to the step that emphasizes a specific SP Import Tool, this time, I went to the FTP site and grabbed the Import tool of SP6, specifically, and the import worked. One of the greatest difficulties that I thought absurd during this headache was that I couldn't even just simply select the text of errors in the popup of the Import Tool, so I always had to go open the log to get to the error. To me, that's silly.

All of these things have been very frustrating and highlighting a deficiency. And, then there's the challenge of the necessity of doing things this way.

EXPORT